Studio Visit: Abigail Box

University of the Arts graduate Abigail Box is a British artist who creates paintings that are products of her inquisitive nature. She is fascinated with interpreting digital images with paint. We were lucky enough to visit Abigail at her studio and chat about her current body of work – and her latest show, Floored – currently exhibiting in London’s West End.

Your subject matter is quite unique. What sparked your interest in explosions and tigers?
Visually explosions are breathtaking… that, and just the idea of them affects how I put paint to canvas, encouraging me to be inventive. Similarly tigers are wild and captivating – they excite me in the same way.

Tell us a little bit about your latest exhibition Floored?
The work in Floored follows a previous series I did that focused on painting wild animals into domestic or urban environments. In this new work I’m also exploring the manipulation of the original images in Photoshop, so structurally the compositions are confused, perspectives don’t match up, things are out of place, in the wrong order, off balance.

Where have your works been exhibited?
I’ve shown mostly in London but I’ve also had the chance to show in places such as Hong Kong and LA.

What was the first thing you ever painted?
In primary school I painted a seaside. It’s still hanging up at my parents house.

Where is your studio?
East London

For those that don’t know the area, what’s the vibe?
The view from my studio window is of an industrial estate, bricks, warehouses, lorries, cranes. It suits me fine.

What do you like best about the neighborhood?
I find it entertaining that the only convenience around is Doorsteps a “hot/cold food bar” in a blue shipping container. You could prop open a door with the wedges of bread they use to make the sandwiches.

Where do you get your supplies?
I get paints, brushes, canvas from Cass Art or Atlantis just off Brick Lane and I go to Whittens Timber yard in Peckham to buy wood for making stretchers.

What’s next for Abigail Box?
The Trelex Residency in Switzerland run by artist Nina Rodin. I’m going in January with another painter, Rebecca Molloy. I’m looking forward to a few weeks with nothing else to do but focus on painting and the conversation between the three of us.

MTV Re:Define Website

Leave a Reply

